OVER IT by Eve Ensler.


This is copied from the Huffington Post site.  This article was not written by me.  This was written by the brilliant Ms. Eve Ensler.  I read this and had to share it with you guys.  I am over it too.  I agree with the OCCUPYRAPE part.  Countdown to Vday 2013.  I will be sharing this with my support group when it gets started.  We are getting closer to that time!

 

I am over rape.

I am over rape culture, rape mentality, rape pages on Facebook.

I am over the thousands of people who signed those pages with their real names without shame.

I am over people demanding their right to rape pages, and calling it freedom of speech or justifying it as a joke.

I am over people not understanding that rape is not a joke and I am over being told I don’t have a sense of humor, and women don’t have a sense of humor, when most women I know (and I know a lot) are really fucking funny. We just don’t think that uninvited penises up our anus, or our vagina is a laugh riot.

I am over how long it seems to take anyone to ever respond to rape. I am over Facebook taking weeks to take down rape pages.

I am over the hundreds of thousands of women in Congo still waiting for the rapes to end and the rapists to be held accountable.

I am over the thousands of women in Bosnia, Burma, Pakistan, South Africa, Guatemala, Sierra Leone, Haiti, Afghanistan, Libya, you name a place, still waiting for justice.

I am over rape happening in broad daylight.

I am over the 207 clinics in Ecuador supported by the government that are capturing, raping, and torturing lesbians to make them straight.

I am over one in three women in the U.S military (Happy Veterans Day!) getting raped by their so-called “comrades.”

I am over the forces that deny women who have been raped the right to have an abortion.

I am over the fact that after four women came forward with allegations that Herman Cain groped them and grabbed them and humiliated them, he is still running for the President of the United States.

And I’m over CNBC debate host Maria Bartiromo getting booed when she asked him about it. She was booed, not Herman Cain.

Which reminds me, I am so over the students at Penn State who protested the justice system instead of the alleged rapist pedophile of at least 8 boys, or his boss Joe Paterno, who did nothing to protect those children after knowing what was happening to them.

I am over rape victims becoming re-raped when they go public.

I am over starving Somalian women being raped at the Dadaab refugee camp in Kenya, and I am over women getting raped at Occupy Wall Street and being quiet about it because they were protecting a movement which is fighting to end the pillaging and raping of the economy and the earth, as if the rape of their bodies was something separate.

I am over women still being silent about rape, because they are made to believe it’s their fault or they did something to make it happen.

I am over violence against women not being a #1 international priority when one out of three women will be raped or beaten in her lifetime — the destruction and muting and undermining of women is the destruction of life itself. No women, no future, duh.

I am over this rape culture where the privileged with political and physical and economic might, take what and who they want, when they want it, as much as they want, any time they want it. I am over the endless resurrection of the careers of rapists and sexual exploiters — film directors, world leaders, corporate executives, movie stars, athletes — while the lives of the women they violated are permanently destroyed, often forcing them to live in social and emotional exile.

I am over the passivity of good men. Where the hell are you? You live with us, make love with us, father us, befriend us, brother us, get nurtured and mothered and eternally supported by us, so why aren’t you standing with us? Why aren’t you driven to the point of madness and action by the rape and humiliation of us?

I am over years and years of being over rape.

And thinking about rape every day of my life since I was 5-years-old.

And getting sick from rape, and depressed from rape, and enraged by rape.

And reading my insanely crowded inbox of rape horror stories every hour of every single day.

I am over being polite about rape.

It’s been too long now, we have been too understanding.

We need to OCCUPYRAPE in every school, park, radio, TV station, household, office, factory, refugee camp, military base, back room, night club, alleyway, courtroom, UN office. We need people to truly try and imagine — once and for all — what it feels like to have your body invaded, your mind splintered, your soul shattered.

We need to let our rage and our compassion connect us so we can change the paradigm of global rape.

 There are approximately one billion women on the planet who have been violated.

ONE BILLION WOMEN.

The time is now.

Prepare for the escalation.

Today it begins, moving toward February 14, 2013, when one billion women will rise to end rape.

 Because we are over it.

About wtfhappenedtomyreallife

I am a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, granddaughter, neice, friend, confidant and I am ready to speak my mind.

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Blog, Blogging, Blogs, Eve Ensler, Flashbacks, Rape, sexual assault, Violence Against Women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

    • So far as I have been able to find it looks lke the plan is to speak out. To not be silent. To raise awareness until rapists and abusers know that there will be consequences and we will not be silent any longer. Our voices are our strongest weapon to fight the darkness of violence.

  1. I need help. Will someone read my story. It’s 15 years ago today and it’s like it just happened. I just need to know I am not crazy. For someone to understand and not throw it under the carpet.

    • I understand. I am there with you. Today is 18 years and I can still remember exactly what I was wearing and everything that happened before and after. How it went from a nice night out for his birthday to the death of who I was. You are not alone. You are not alone.

  2. thank you so much for posting this. i was sexually assaulted a few months ago. i still can’t say the words out loud. sometimes it’s because i am ashamed and sometimes it’s because i feel like what happened to me shouldn’t affect me like it does because it wasn’t as bad as what happens to other people. it’s a wide range of emotions going on, and i often feel like i am suffering alone, but things like this remind me i’m definitely not alone.

    • I am so sorry to hear that this has happened to you. I am glad that you understand that you are not alone. Please talk to me anytime you need to. Don’t blame yourself. Don’t feel like it should not affect you. Yes worse situations have happened to other people, but just because they did not use a gun or use a knife or they did not kill us does not mean that what happened to us is not every bit as traumatizing as if they had. If you have not sought professional help, I would recommend finding a good therapist who can help you accept how you feel. I would also recommend reading some of my other posts and maybe going to Pandys.org. The Pandora Project, Pandora’s Aquarium, is an amazing safe place with support from other survivors and it is a survivors and survivor supporters only online community. It is guarded pretty tightly and is not searchable on search engines like google or bing or anything like that. You can be anonymous. In fact, they encourage it and will not let you post personal details as to where you live or phone numbers. They will alter your posts to remove any information that they think may provide someone information that would allow them to hurt you in real life. They look out for us.

      If you ever need to talk, my email is victimnomore1978@gmail.com and whereismyreallife@gmail.com and I welcome all correspondence. Remember, you don’t have to be able to say it outloud yet. You have written it. That is a huge step. It took me years to do that. You are braver than you think, stronger than you seem and smarter than you think. I think Christopher Robbin said that to Winnie The Pooh…and it still holds true for so many of us with PTSD. Love and light to you. I look forward to hearing from you and helping on your journey back to becoming the fabulous person, that the person who hurt you cannot keep you from being.

Leave a Reply

