Just because you are paranoid does not mean that they are not all out to get you


Now don’t get me wrong….I do not feel this way now.  I have in the past, though.  Randomly, out of the blue, I would just start feeling like everyone was talking about me.  Like they were all out to get me into some sort of trouble.

I know what you are thinking (see still a bit paranoid)…You are thinking “This chick  has lost her mind!”

What you might not realize is that I am not alone.  As a survivor of a crime perpetrated by someone that was a friend/aquaintance/love/partner it is not uncommon.  I have found, through talking with other survivors, that we do tend to have a bit of paranoia going on.  Some would even say “A healthy dose of paranoia keeps you safe.”  But when is it too much?

I, personally, have had times when I felt like I could lock myself away from the entire world because I couldn’t trust anyone.  I know that this is not a healthy dose of paranoia…this is more like OD’ing on paranoia.

I would like to invite you all to open this discussion up.  I would like to have an open dialogue with you, my readers, to know your thoughts on this and share my own.  I feel that it is important to openly communicate on this one.  I think we could learn alot from each other.

Love and light,

Lucky

About wtfhappenedtomyreallife

I am a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, granddaughter, neice, friend, confidant and I am ready to speak my mind.

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Acceptance, Blog, Blogging, Blogs, Counseling, Flashbacks, Love, Rape, Self Esteem, Self Love, sexual assault, Therapy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. That is a lot of baggage to be forced to carry, especially alone. I am sorry that you were a victim. You are doing the best thing by bringing it out and talking about it. Group therapy is probably the best of all approaches. Group therapy can also work on-line, like what you are doing. I would recommend a Group Therapy approach above any personal therapy, unless medication is needed.

    • Thank you Randall for your comment. I will say that I have had some luck with personal therapy but I think that the support group will be the start of something wonderful. My therapist has even offered to help out with it. I am truly blessed to be in a place where I am able to do all of this good right now.

  2. Can I just say what a relief to locate someone who truly knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know how to bring an issue to light and make it essential. More people require to read this and realize this side of the story. I cant believe youre not much more popular because you undoubtedly have the gift.

  3. I find myself planning for “what-if” scenarios in case something similar happens again. Some days it is difficult to balance that with, “Okay, girl. Snap out of it and LIVE.” But I have a plan…

Leave a Reply

