Goal for 2012


I have set a goal for myself.  I hope that I will be able to attain this goal.  It should be pretty easy to physically do…it is the emotional that is not going to be so easy.  My goal is to have the proper tools and resources together and ready to hold my first support group meeting in January of 2012.  I may be taking too much time.  I may be able to do this sooner.  My thinking is “New Year, New Start, Time to make changes”.  I would call the group Victims No More.  I have a friend that I am going to talk to about helping me create flyers to distribute to local doctor’s offices and hospitals.  I will put up signs at the library and at the grocery stores and anywhere that will let me.  I am very passionate about getting this off the ground.  I want to do this with my whole heart.  I am also looking to start school within the next 6 months to become a social worker.  I want to do this so that I can become an advocate for change.  I want to be the change I want to see in the world.  I want to be able to help those who have been through the things I have been through.  Be there to help them the way I wish that someone had been there for me.

I just hope that I am getting myself in over my head.  Not doing more than I really can.  I am braver and stronger now than I have ever been before.  NOW is my time to do what I was put on this Earth to do.  I am going to become an advocate and an activist.  I am going to be a light in this dark world.  I am going to use my voice and my experiences and my will to break the silence.  I can’t wait.

About wtfhappenedtomyreallife

I am a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, granddaughter, neice, friend, confidant and I am ready to speak my mind.

Posted on August 17, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That is AWESOME, the world needs more people like you xx

  2. Good for you!

    Just one caution – I attended a support group once – it was one that was a sort of generalized support group for mental disorders. There was not one for survivors of cult abuse anywhere in the vicinity of where I lived at the time. I must say, I wanted to vomit because I was stuck listening and trying to act sympathetic toward this bunch of whiny overly-dramatic bunch of pansy-assed little bitches who wouldn’t know a real trauma if it slapped them in the face. They thought they had “issues” because their daddy didn’t play ball with them enough as a kid. Or their husbands didn’t understand them when they were on their period. Shit like that. Or their boyfriend dumped them. The people in the group were on all kinds of happy pills because they thought they had problems. I wasn’t about to begin to share my problems with them – their tiny little brains would have exploded.

    Sorry for the rant. Lol I guess it’s kind of a hot point for me. I would hate for you to get a group together only to discover that your are with a bunch of girls whining that their high school teacher brushed his elbow against their boob one time and they are ruined for life because of it.

    • I appreciate that comment very much. My group is being aimed specifically at survivors of rape and sexual assault. I suppose that there will be some that may wander in that are not in the right group, but I will have to deal with that when it comes. My city does not have any support groups for sexual assault survivors. There are plenty other types of groups. I hope that it goes well. We all need this.

  3. This is great stuff. You can turn your own negative experiences into a strength, and keep growing from that strength. I wish you good luck with the support group. Fantastic initiative. Big hug for you!

    • Thank you so very much! I am very much looking forward to the group. I just have to get all of the plans made and the preparations set in place. Then I have to get my nerve built up. I know I can do this…It is scary though.

  4. GO FOR IT!!! Sounds like a great idea. 🙂 Support groups are so beneficial. I wish you much success with it!

Leave a Reply

