Me…Today….


Let me start of by saying that there are many who think that I am brave for posting this blog.  I am not brave.  I am just no longer afraid.  I am not that victim that I was in the past.  i am not the confused, lost and shamed person that I was back then.  I KNOW it was not my fault.  I KNOW that I did not bring it on myself or make it happen.  I did not ask for it.  I did not cause it.  I did not play hard to get or give them a reason to hurt me.  I did nothing wrong.

What really gets to me is the fact that so many young and old out there, male and female, let others convince them that it IS their fault.  That they DID ask for it.  That they DID something to cause it.  My heart breaks for those who are still victims. Those who still let these horrible events that have happened to them rule and sometimes ruin their lives.

I made a vow to myself.  I will not be silent.  I will not let someone who hurt me kill my voice.  I will not let someone who hurt me take away my pride in who and what I am.  I will not let someone else have that power over me.  I hope that other’s will find their way to this place within themselves.  To this peace that KNOWS that I am worthy of love and I am worthy of acceptance and that I love myself and accept myself.  To the place inside that knows that I am a good and kind and beautiful person and I am deserving of happiness and love and light.  To the place where they can say “I am a victim NO MORE!” and they can know that “I am a SURVIVOR!”.

This is my wish for anyone who has ever been sexually or otherwise assaulted, physically, verbally, mentally or emotionally abused.  Get help and get out.  Be a survivor.  Do not let them make you a victim any longer.

If you feel that you are alone, know that you are not.  I am here and I may not know you, but I love you.  I love your heart and  your spirit and your determination and I will be your friend.  I will be your friend and I will give you my support and my help even if it is only in encouraging words.

Find your peace.  Find your safety.  Find your survivor inside.

About wtfhappenedtomyreallife

I am a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, granddaughter, neice, friend, confidant and I am ready to speak my mind.

Posted on July 26, 2011, in Rape and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I know that you may not consider it an act of bravery but, in my opinion, anytime a person tells something personal to them to TONS of strangers (especially about being violated) then that is brave. Congratulations on your working recovery in progress and good luck with attaining your goal of helping other survivors.

Leave a Reply

